Gears of War Judgment review

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Pais on Tue 19 Mar 2013 - 18:23

Full review HERE

In a nutshell- Short sections (10mins) bookended by leaderboards. Declassifed missions to unlock to make things harder. Companion BONUS campaign to link events to Gears 3. 8/10

Not sure if i like the sound of that or not? Soon find out.

Pais
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 2998
Join date : 2010-10-24
Age : 39
Location : Suffolk

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by N1NJA FWG on Tue 19 Mar 2013 - 18:37

The campaign does sound like the pacing has been changed a lot but its hitting almost 80 across the board on Metacritic so it can't be all bad. Overrun has been well received as well.

_________________
Reaper FWG wrote:THE APOCOALYPS IS HERE!!!!!


avatar
N1NJA FWG
Admin
Admin

Posts : 12710
Join date : 2010-06-08
Age : 42
Location : Birmingham

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Killswitchmad on Tue 19 Mar 2013 - 18:46

I'm still a little skeptical will probably give this a go when it drops a little
avatar
Killswitchmad
Fifth Wall Vet
Fifth Wall Vet

Posts : 3546
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 31
Location : Suffolk

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Pagey on Tue 19 Mar 2013 - 19:22

Been debating about getting this for a while but I think I will just wait for it to drop in price. If I remember rightly Gears 3 dropped to around £15 in a couple of weeks
avatar
Pagey
Fifth Wall Vet
Fifth Wall Vet

Posts : 2793
Join date : 2012-03-18
Age : 36
Location : Leicester

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Butterbean FWG on Tue 19 Mar 2013 - 20:04

get it on pc for £1 then chris
avatar
Butterbean FWG
Fifth Wall Vet
Fifth Wall Vet

Posts : 1003
Join date : 2012-07-08
Age : 45
Location : sunny morecambe

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Pagey on Tue 19 Mar 2013 - 20:22

Butterbean FWG wrote:get it on pc for £1 then chris

Don't think its coming out on the PC Reece or I would Razz Razz
avatar
Pagey
Fifth Wall Vet
Fifth Wall Vet

Posts : 2793
Join date : 2012-03-18
Age : 36
Location : Leicester

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Waylander FWG on Wed 20 Mar 2013 - 9:02

Pais wrote:In a nutshell- Short sections (10mins) bookended by leaderboards. Declassifed missions to unlock to make things harder. Companion BONUS campaign to link events to Gears 3. 8/10

This.

Sounds like a fucking Vita game. Both COD Declassified and Unit 13 are all about very short missions that you can play in short bursts.

_________________
avatar
Waylander FWG
Admin
Admin

Posts : 5792
Join date : 2010-06-09
Age : 38
Location : Birmingham

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Killswitchmad on Wed 20 Mar 2013 - 21:44

Tried out the mp demo last night and have totally fallen in love with overrun mode Smile

Only issue is that the Gnasher still needs a huge nerfing....
avatar
Killswitchmad
Fifth Wall Vet
Fifth Wall Vet

Posts : 3546
Join date : 2011-08-19
Age : 31
Location : Suffolk

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Butterbean FWG on Wed 20 Mar 2013 - 22:09

its a feckin awsome game type does need a few tweeks but thats why the updates were invented i cannot wait to get the full game on tuesday.
avatar
Butterbean FWG
Fifth Wall Vet
Fifth Wall Vet

Posts : 1003
Join date : 2012-07-08
Age : 45
Location : sunny morecambe

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Reaper FWG on Thu 21 Mar 2013 - 9:10

the good the bad and the bad.... so after 6 hours of Gears last night here is what to expect...

In MP you can only pick 1 primary weapon and you have a pistol so there is no Lancer/Gnasher choice. yopu can swop you pistol for any gun but you cant start with a gnasher and a lancer so most games are shotgun fests.

There are no locusts and no DBNO in MP.

there is no Beast, Horde, excecution or warzone gametypes.

you get TDM, Domination, Overrun, Free for all in MP and survival (seperate menu)

The game is fluent and the heights of the map give tactical drop down advantages, but as i feared months ago its very much gears turning into cod! me and shaggle played a lot last night and it is quality its fast its exciting it just dosent feel like Gears.

Overun iv only played one game of but that looks like a good laugh.

Single player is short missions the second for example is 4 minutes long and if it takes longer its game over........ you can also choose declassified missions as you go through which earn you stars and makes the game harder and changes the story details.

you can buy double xp with microsoft points, and the season pass is 1600 points and you get early access to 2 new game modes and map packs etc....

and just to clarify for you Reece! you only get classes in overrun.................. Not in MP!
avatar
Reaper FWG
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 3328
Join date : 2012-08-07
Age : 35

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by FWG Unky Al on Thu 21 Mar 2013 - 12:12

Jamie I haven't bothered reading your review as it's too long. I eagerly await Evo's review as they are much more concise and to the point Very Happy



Last edited by FWG Unky Al on Thu 21 Mar 2013 - 12:24; edited 1 time in total

_________________
He Cheats, he dives, he hates the Jackson 5. Luis Suarez.



avatar
FWG Unky Al
Admin
Admin

Posts : 5873
Join date : 2010-06-16
Age : 42
Location : Birmingham

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Reaper FWG on Thu 21 Mar 2013 - 12:19

you havent bothered reading my review as its too like. ???????? not sure you dont make sense.
avatar
Reaper FWG
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 3328
Join date : 2012-08-07
Age : 35

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by FWG Unky Al on Thu 21 Mar 2013 - 12:25

Reaper FWG wrote:you havent bothered reading my review as its too like. ???????? not sure you dont make sense.

Should be long (I've been using your phone to post my messages due to the errors happening) Very Happy

I have read it really and it was a good post young Jamie

_________________
He Cheats, he dives, he hates the Jackson 5. Luis Suarez.



avatar
FWG Unky Al
Admin
Admin

Posts : 5873
Join date : 2010-06-16
Age : 42
Location : Birmingham

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Reaper FWG on Thu 21 Mar 2013 - 12:55

lol......... i want a good post Jamie EMOJI!

that or a spells like Jamie Emoji.....
avatar
Reaper FWG
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 3328
Join date : 2012-08-07
Age : 35

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by FWG Unky Al on Thu 21 Mar 2013 - 12:57

Reaper FWG wrote: that or a spells like Jamie Emoji.....

I Agree

_________________
He Cheats, he dives, he hates the Jackson 5. Luis Suarez.



avatar
FWG Unky Al
Admin
Admin

Posts : 5873
Join date : 2010-06-16
Age : 42
Location : Birmingham

Back to top Go down

Re: Gears of War Judgment review

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum